Two Days Until Skyrim!

We are now only two days away from 11-11-11: the release date for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. I can honestly say that I haven’t been this excited about a video game for a long long time. It literally feels like Christmas Eve did when I was a kid; I can barely sleep; I keep looking at the time; I go through the internet like a sieve every couple of hours searching for any new tidbit of information that might be in anyway related to the game.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will be a fantasy Role-Playing Game of epic proportions. (Check out Wikipedia for a nice detailed summary!) Creating your own totally unique character, you are set loose to explore a massive living world whatever way you want to. You can be a roaming dragon slayer, a petty thief, a mage apprentice, a shadowy assassin, or maybe just a regular blacksmith; this is real role-playing where you determine who your character is.

Check out this trailer to get a sense of what I mean when I say that this is – by far! – the most immersive, expansive, rich and absolutely gorgeous world you are going to find in a video game this generation:

The main story-line of the game focuses on the return of dragons to the world (and yes, you get to fight them!). Your character is “dragonborn” which means that you have some link to the ancient magic of the dragons. My favorite bit about Skyrim, however, is that this massive main quest is only a fraction of the game: there are factions you can join (such as the Mage’s Guild) which are just as fully fleshed out, and every town is full of unique individuals with their own quests and stories; it’s not a linear path, it’s an open and real world.

It’s like living through The Lord of the Rings – but better.

I’m supposed to write an essay this weekend. But finding the time for that once I get my hands on Skyrim is looking less and less likely: Dragon-slaying > English politics IMO.

I’ve been toying with a new idea for my blog: I’m thinking of writing a series about my playthrough of Skyrim. This won’t be from the perspective of a gamer; this will be a role-playing blog – basically like a fantasy novel in bite-sized chunks! I’ll put up a more explanatory post once I finalize exactly how this feature will work. You can probably expect to start reading the series this weekend (fingers crossed!).

It should hopefully turn out really well – after all, in this game, the sky’s the limit! (I’m so sorry! I couldn’t resist!)

P.S. I’ve made a Facebook Page to be a companion page to the blog. Instead of spamming everybody with status updates from my own profile, people who are interested in reading can “like” my page and get updated about new content from there. In a couple of weeks I’ll switch to posting blog updates on my personal profile on a weekly basis – if you want to read the daily posts you gotta like the page! It should be much handier for people to find and sort through my updates this way, and it should be much less obtrusive at the same time. Cheers, Kevin 🙂

3 thoughts on “Two Days Until Skyrim!

  1. I can’t wait for this game, but I won’t get to play it for a while! I look forward to reading your role-playing story as a companion to it, though. It’ll make up for not have the time to actually sit down and slay me some dragons!

  2. Pingback: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Review Say goodbye to real life. November 10, 2011 Level 7 by Charles Onyett « New Age

Share Your Thoughts

