My Top 5 Staple Foods

Staple foods are those foods that make up the bulk of what you eat. You’re going to be eating these foods every single day and this means that you will have favorites among them – and maybe even ones that you can’t stand! My granddad, for example, won’t eat rice or noodles; he’s a potato man to the bone. In this post I’m going to rank 5 of my main staple foods and tell you why I prefer some of them to others. This list will be in reverse order, i.e. starting with my least liked at 5 and moving up to my favorite at 1.

I apologize if anyone gets hungry while reading this.

On with the list!

5. Noodles

Oodles of noodles!

Noodles can be a pretty fun food to eat. Every noodle eating experience is an adventure. Sometimes I even feel a bit sorry for my noodles; I can’t help thinking that their dedication to being difficult to fork up is because they really don’t want to be eaten. And don’t even get me started on chopsticks. Nonetheless, eat them I do. I suppose there’s always that handful of strands that’s left over at the end which escape my gullet’s wrath, and that, at least, is some consolation.

The reason noodles are the lowest ranked of these foods is that, well, there’s only so much you can do with noodles. Every noodle dish is kinda the same. Heck, even the different types of noodles aren’t particularly different! The fact of the matter is that there’s only so much noodle you can eat without getting so sick of them that the mere thought of a noodle-based dinner will make you cry.

Also, Pot Noodle is evil evil evil.

4. Potato

Meh.

I know that this one is going to shock a lot of people. OMGPOTATORANKEDTOOLOWWHUTISWRONGWITHYOU!?! (I clearly have a high opinion of potato fans). Sorry guys – I just don’t like potatoes all that much! Maybe it’s something to do with Irish history and the famine; they ate potatoes all the time and look what happened to them. (i.e. DEATH. Starvation and DEATH. Or emigration – which is like taking a year out to travel before going to college, except that travel is a famine ship and college is DEATH.)

Potatoes also have a real “farmer” vibe about them. (Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against farmers per se!) But when you get a bag of potatoes it’s all covered in muck and dirt – and that’s just not me . (I’m a spoiled city boy :P). I almost feel like I should be eating them with filthy black nails and a plaid cap in order to do them justice. Then go out to milk the cows after.

And, let’s not beat around the bush, they’re a bit of a granddad food as well.

That being said, some types of potato based food are actually pretty good. I’m not a big fan of boiled or mashed potato, but roast ones are top class. Don’t forget that crisps and chips are made of potatoes too! (I’m a very healthy eater). Potatoes have a lot a variety in how they can be cooked, and everyone is gonna have at least one type that they enjoy. For that reason, I can grudgingly accept them.

3. Pasta

"The butterfly one"

I love pasta. It’s absolutely fantastic. Lasagna, spaghetti bolognese, spaghetti carbonara – there’s just so many awesome dinners that are based on pasta. And it goes with a surprising amount of other dinners as well.

The most impressive thing about pasta is how it achieves variety through shape. I know they all have fancy names, but I just tend to think of them as “the shell ones”, “the ones that are like short straws”, “the butterfly ones” etc. They’re pretty much exactly the same thing but the different shapes make for much different eating experiences.

And spaghetti, to my mind, does noodles better than noodles.

2. Rice

Rice is nice

I love Asian food and, therefore, I love rice. Rice is number two on my list because it’s just unbeatable when it comes to eating sauce-based food. Think curry, and you’re on to a winner. No other staple food mixes with things like curry half as well as rice does.

I would agree that white rice is a bit boring, but other types of rice greatly improve upon this archetype. Brown rice is my personal favorite: it’s really healthy and it’s strangely delicious, with a nice flavor and a feathery soft texture. Fried rice, infamous thanks to all those Chinese take-aways we all know and love, is good enough to eat on it’s own. I’m also a major fan of sushi which uses a special sticky variety of short-grain rice.

You can even have rice in your dessert: creamed rice = yum! You can’t do that with a potato. And God help you if you try!

1. Bread

Bread. Nothing needs to be said.

Was there ever any doubt that bread would be number one? It’s savory, it’s sweet; it’s everything. Pause for a moment and reflect: white bread, brown bread, garlic bread, scones, bagels, banana bread, croissants, croutons, pizza, sandwiches, toast. 5 stars for every single one.

Toast is, without a shadow of a doubt, the absolute pinnacle of the staple food pyramid. Toasted cheese sambo? Marmalade on toast? Toast to dunk in your soup? There’s just so many uses for toast! It can be a snack or the basis for a full meal. You can’t go wrong with a slice of toast – indeed, a life without toast probably wouldn’t be worth living.

A clear indicator of its supremacy is the fact that toast is the go-to food when you’re ill. Whenever I’m sick I eat plain buttered toast. And it’s delicious. Despite it’s sheer simplicity it’s so good that even an unsettled stomach can’t refuse it. Imagine if your mother brought you up a plate of noodles instead? It just wouldn’t work. Everyone around the world knows that even in their darkest hour, toast will be there.

In fact, I think I’m going to have a slice of toast right now.

You should too!

Thanks for reading! Do you like my list? Would you change anything around? Or do you all agree that potatoes kinda suck? 😛 Let me know in the comments below! – Kevin

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Staple Foods

Share Your Thoughts

