Bag-packing In Tesco

You can probably tell from the title that this is going to be an INCREDIBLY EXCITING BLOG POST!!! If so, I must compliment you on your finely honed perceptions! (And you think I’m being ironic?!?) I went bag-packing for the first time in my life on Saturday, and thus began my first foray into that noblest of trades. It was not entirely of my own volition mind you; my cousin and a couple of her friends from medicine in UCD needed people to help out with some fundraising and I was more than happy [(-_-)] to oblige! But you know what? In the end it actually turned out to be a lot of fun!

Le bag.

The whole point of the collection was to raise money for a hospital in Sierra Leone, with most of the donations going towards medical supplies such as antibiotics and vaccines which my cousin and her friends would be bringing over with them when they went over to assist. (As far as I know they actually paid for their own travel expenses.) It was a surprisingly noble cause, and the amount of money that people donated was, I think, a fair reflection of that. It was also a much needed salve for my normally laid-back self-image; if I had gotten off my butt to collect for something silly like new jerseys for a football team I don’t think I’d have ever been able to look at my reflection straight again!

So, uncharacteristically rising to the special occasion, I (very characteristically!) put on my favorite boxers and socks. (With all due pomp and ceremony!) For those of you who don’t know, my favorite boxers are purple, stripy, and extremely comfortable. Let’s face it: who doesn’t love a man in purple boxers?! My favorite socks are Santa socks. (They can be worn with great panache and irony to every single social event in the calender year; they’re always cool. Except at Christmas. They’re just not the same at Christmas…)

[I would have embedded pictures of them in this post for you but, unfortunately, they’re currently in the wash. I hold very strongly to the principle that after 5 days of continuous wear it’s just not right to take a picture of one’s underwear. Some things just shouldn’t be done.]

What really surprised me from my few hours bag-packing was the amount of people who came to the supermarket to buy dog food and beer. Just dog food and beer. And C’est tout! I suppose you might ask, ‘Well, what more could you want?!’ Dog food contains all your essential nutrients and beer fulfills all your beverage-related needs. If you think about it that way, you’ll see that it’s the perfect one-two (Uniflu) [SPONSOR!!] combo. Two stones with one bird and all that.

L'autre bag.

You also come to see the man/woman divide much more clearly at the supermarket. Women shop for healthy nutritious food and want their bags packed in a very particular way. God forbid you put the raw meat in with the cooked meat! And mixing the toiletries with the frozen foods could be fatal!

Men, on the other hand, couldn’t care less about the shopping. Most of them just bought crisps or beer, and if they ever bought anything healthy you’d always find a sneaky handful of chocolate bars hidden behind those oh so innocent looking cauliflowers. And bags? Who cares how they’re packed!? Feck the lot in any way at all!!

You bump into a number of other personalities at the supermarket tills as well: there’s the old man who no one can quite understand (smile and nod, just smile and nod!); the twitchy foreigner whose language barrier is placed firmly between your grasping hands and his precious shopping bags; and the bustling mammy who has half her extended family’s kids down with her and completely under control whilst simultaneously extracting from you your life story, haggling with the man on the till, and packing more bags than the two of you bag-packers combined.

Le first bag again. (I'm sorry there's only so many pictures of bags that one can attach!)

All in all, the day was a great success. I must admit that I bailed out early; after about 5 hours I pretty much collapsed, went home, and slept through most of the afternoon to wake up around bedtime. My body-clock still hasn’t fully recovered! That aside though, roughly 1000 euro was raised for the hospital in Sierra Leone, which was a truly fantastic achievement. (And no eggs were crushed in the process!)

[List of things to do in life: bag-packing? = check. *High-five!!*]

6 thoughts on “Bag-packing In Tesco

Share Your Thoughts

